The Crib Effect

So my son has had a transition from my loving arms to a rocker to a bouncer (which lasted for a week) to a rocker in a semi-upright position to a rocker in an almost full upright position to a crib.

Now these things have become part of my journey with my son. He has learned to roll over and has started crawling at make me run after him every 6 minutes.

He has particular fondness for wires, ribbons, rounded objects, anything that resembles a wall which he can tap, corners of anything solid (or bed-like). So whenever I leave him alone in our bed (it’s actually just a foam, zen-style lol), I would return to him nibbling on some secret treasure he found inside his clothes box.

The easiest and most convenient way to keep crawling baby safe is for him to stay inside a crib. It’s a simple genius solution to my Nanay problems when I have something urgent to finish.

inthecrib

The idea is to fill the crib with toys, lots and lots of it, and he’ll play with them until he’s hungry and will call for Nanay again.

Then I can finish the laundry, write a novel, start the next multi-million startup or just blog.

And life will be so perfect.

Not.

No one told me cribs aren’t part of natural parenting.

And that babies hate it.

And my son hates it.

In the next days, I would find myself questioning age-old wisdom of commercial crib-makers and my own motherly instincts. That’s because my son, after an hour of spending his time in his crib, realised it’s just another fancy way of getting rid of him.

inthecrib3

And he wanted his freedom back. His bed back. His pillow walls and clothes cabinet of secret treasures.

And no matter how many tricks I tried, he still knows he’s going back to the crib so even before his feet set in on the crib airspace, he would cry his angriest and most scared-sounding cry.

inthecrib2

I practiced him by leaving him there for a couple of minutes to let him adjust. Oh that he adjusted well. Really well that I would see him busy with his toys and once every five minutes, I’d hear him laugh.

It sounded as if everything was going according to plans. We moved the crib from the other room to the living area next to where I work. And for two hours it was working.

Then for some strange reason, he thought seeing me from his crib, barred by the screen and the high red walls was torture.

And he started to cry.

He cried for so long no amount of cuddling would console him. And I cried with him. LOL

So I tried putting him on the floor just to make him feel better. Wrong move.

onthefloor

To make the story short, we gave up and brought him back to our bed where he can climb on pillows and scavenge on folded clothes.

One thought on “The Crib Effect

Leave a Reply

